Wednesday, October 31, 2018

DO BUGS WEAR SHOES? Children's Non-Fiction



Do Bugs Wear Shoes?

A colorful, fun-filled book packed with answers
to all your silliest bug questions! 



Learn what happens when a bug goes to space, to school, and to the gym. Find out if bugs have feelings like people do. Discover robot bugs, dancing bugs, bugs that poop and so much more!
Filled with illustrations, photographs and interactive videos, Do Bugs Wear Shoes will have kids laughing and learning as they discover awe-inspiring facts about the insect world. This beautifully designed book is organized into colorful two-page spreads that each focus on a different question, making it easy and fun to read for children and big kids alike.

BOOK EXTRAS include videos and printable worksheets for extended learning. Great for educators and at-home learning.

PLUS, vote on the world’s most beautiful bug!

Recommended for ages 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and up.



Don't miss out on the chance to bug out!

Purchase Links:












With fantastic illustrations from Anthony Puttee as well as photographs of actual critters and bugs, this book is educational and lots of fun for both parents and children.
Addie Broussard knows what questions kids find interesting. She offers information that will make you gasp and giggle.
This book reminds me of how much I looked forward to the next issue of Highlights when I was a child.  You can also go the website to watch related videos.

From smallest to largest, these facts about bugs will entertain and entice you.
I am positive you will want to do more research on your own.






Two Umbrellas is an educational publishing company that fuses education and storytelling.  We offer books and activities to help parents and educators empower tomorrow’s leaders.

Our founders, Anthony Puttee and Addie Broussard, love to travel.  Anthony’s favorite trip was to Antarctica and he has included some of his personal photos in this book.  Addie has traveled solo around the world. While in Portugal, she encountered a unique insect, which inspired a children’s book called The Beedog, which was published in 2018.

The idea for Do Bugs Wear Shoes came from a playful team meeting on a rooftop in Mexico.

Social Media Links –




Book resources at https://twoumbrellasplease.com

Halloween Book Blast


Click on any of the below book covers to be taken to the page that has more information on the novel as well as the Buy Links!




Tuesday, October 30, 2018

War of Storms

DEATH, DIAMONDS, AND FREEZER BURN


Death, Diamonds, and Freezer Burn (Grime Pays Mysteries)
by Tricia L. Sanders






Death, Diamonds, and Freezer Burn (Grime Pays Mysteries)
Cozy Mystery
2nd in Series
Soul Mate Publishing, Inc.
Release Date – October 24, 2018
Approximately 254 pages
An unwelcome visitor, an unrequited love, and a dead body create chaos in a middle-aged woman’s plan for a productive summer.
Despite a looming divorce, an empty checkbook, and a struggling cleaning business, Cece Cavanaugh is determined to land on her own two feet. Adamant about staying a safe distance from the handsome detective who has her fantasizing about violating the morals clause in her prenuptial agreement, Cece dives headlong into her work.
Even though she has no free time to spare, Cece finds herself guilted into cleaning a hoarder’s home. Her discoveries in the condemned house are too shocking to ignore. Diamond-laden pachyderms, a secret cache of money, and a dead body lure Cece into launching an investigation that places her in direct contact with the one person she’s desperate to avoid–hunky Detective Case Alder.
With clues in hand, Cece runs down leads and eliminates suspects one by one. Her conclusion and brave accusation put a friend’s life in peril forcing Cece to hatch a plan to outsmart the killer. A daring move could either save Cece and her friend or lead to their demise.



 Why did you decide to make your heroine of ''a certain age?'' 

Though Cece, my main character, isn’t actually a baby boomer, she was when I started writing the series.
I decided not to age her into the baby boom generation, but she was still of the age where women start dealing with “older” issues. Their children are grown or almost grown.
Empty-nest syndrome, chin hairs, menopause, and middle-age crazy are all issues for women of a certain-age.
I wanted my character to deal with spousal infidelity and the fear of being alone as a result to show that women are strong and resilient and can land on their feet.




We know she has attraction feelings for the hunky detective.  He can also aggravate her at times.
Is it more fun to write them butting heads or her imagining them doing another sort of bump? 

Ha! I certainly am imagining the other kind, but I love writing the head-butting.
I think it defines their characters and makes the imagination so much more fun.
They are both strong-willed, and I love pushing their buttons.



How do you decide how many viable suspects to add to a plot? 
Usually I pick 2-3 and invariably as I write another 1 or 2 will surface. I may or may not keep all of them. But the organic ones typically tend to be the best. 

How do you come up with the secondary characters in your books?  
Are they based on people you know in real life or perhaps on traits you wish you had? 

Good question! Most of the characters are mash-ups of people I know. I’ll take a trait from one acquaintance and one from another and combine to create a unique character.
The one thing I can say for certain is that the mother-in-law, Hazel, is NOT in any way based on my late mother-in-law. 

Do you already have an idea how many books could be in this series? 

No idea at all. I have book 3 in first draft, book 4 in outline form, and a general idea for book 5.
As long as I can come up with fresh plots and keep my characters interesting, I’ll keep the series going.

YAY- we are all happy to hear this.



What one thing do you wish you had known as a younger writer or wish you had begun doing sooner? 

I wish I had not waited so long to publish a novel, I’ve been writing my whole life in some form or another, and I’ve had success with creative non-fiction, but I kept dragging my feet in the fiction area. So, my advice is do not wait until you think you are good enough. Write Now!
Which other writers in your genre do you admire? 

Susan Wittag Albert, the late Anne George, Mary Kay Andrews aka Kathy Hogan Trocheck, Ellery Adams, Agatha Christie, Diane Mott Davidson, J A Jance, Mary Daheim


Do you have any favorite series to read? 

The China Bayles Mysteries, The Sullivan Sisters and Ryli Sinclair Mysteries by Jenna St. James, The Joanna Brady series by J A Jance, Mary Daheim’s Bed and Breakfast series


Thank you Tricia for giving us some insight into your writing world and inspiration to follow our own writing dreams.

About the Author



Tricia L. Sanders writes cozy mysteries and women’s fiction. She adds a dash of romance and a sprinkling of snark to raise the stakes. Her heroines are humorous women embarking on journeys of self-discovery all the while doing so with class, sass, and a touch of kickass.
Tricia is an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan, so don’t get between her and the television when a game is on. Currently, she is working on a mystery series set in the fictional town of Wickford, Missouri. Another project in the works is a women’s fiction road trip adventure.
A former instructional designer and corporate trainer, she traded in curriculum writing for novel writing, because she hates bullet points and loves to make stuff up. And fiction is more fun than training guides and lesson plans.
Author Links
Purchase Link – Amazon 

A Christmas Date by Camilla Isley

















A Christmas Date

No one wants to be single at the holidays.



Even Little Miss Grinch, Nikki, a successful and independent woman, must face her bachelorette status at the most horrible time of the year.


December is her personal version of holly-jolly hell: a merry torture made of couples kissing at every corner, forced vacation days, and an inescapable family reunion.
And when her baby sister announces she’s engaged—to Paul, the man Nikki is secretly in love with—and that he’s spending the holidays with them, Christmas starts looking bluer than ever.
Nikki can’t possibly survive an entire week trapped home as the family’s spinster. But she has no time to meet men or to try the newest dating app, she’s too busy working as a video producer for an advertising agency.
So what’s a girl to do?

Nikki has the perfect solution: to hire a fake boyfriend.
Luckily, her job gives her access to an endless catalog of gorgeous actors to choose from.
But Nikki will soon discover that keeping business and pleasure from mixing isn’t so easy, and that she might not be immune to a little mistletoe magic. Especially not when she picked out the perfect man as her Christmas date...

A fun, festive romantic comedy with lots of bad behavior and Christmas spirit. Like a creamy hot chocolate with marshmallows, you won’t want to put this deliciously hilarious novel down. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Sally Thorne, and Jo Watson.

First Comes Love is a series of interconnected romantic novels.
However, each book in the series can be read as a standalone.


A warm holiday read that will have you shake your head, pull your snuggly blanket up higher, and dream of a perfect holiday.

Nikki thinks she has found the perfect man, only her timing is way off. So they are friends, through his girlfriends and her dates. Until finally they are both single...and he meets her sister.

When December rolls around and Nikki must head home to spend time with the family, she gets the worst news. The love of her love ill also be there, because he and beautiful little sister are now engaged! You know what that means... Nikki can not go home empty handed.

This is fun and flirty and comical. A light read with emotional upheaval. Nikki doesn't just pick the "perfect man" to be her fake boyfriend, she finds the man her sister has described as perfect. (Remember the wish Sally Owens made in Practical Magic?) She has to turn him into a longterm boyfriend in just a few days. Immersion dating.

I love the characters, including the best friend and animals.
The family relationships are believable and endearing.
While we are all a little in love with the fake boyfriend from the start, his "assets" continue to draw us closer. And author Camilla Isley makes us wait for our happy ending!


Purchase Links
Amazon Geo-linked http://hyperurl.co/s3dxdc



Author Bio –
Camilla is an engineer turned writer after she quit her job to follow her husband on an adventure abroad.
She’s a cat lover, coffee addict, and shoe hoarder. Besides writing, she loves reading—duh!—cooking, watching bad TV, and going to the movies—popcorn, please. She’s a bit of a foodie, nothing too serious. A keen traveler, Camilla knows mosquitoes play a role in the ecosystem, and she doesn’t want to starve all those frog princes out there, but she could really live without them.


Social Media Links –