Thursday, November 1, 2018

Christmas with the East End Angels by Rosie Hendry



Christmas with the East End Angels

It's the most wonderful time of the year - and the East End Angels are working hard to keep Londoners safe.


Frankie is trying hard to keep everything together. She can count on the support of the East End Angels, even in the face of family trouble.
Winnie's beloved husband, Mac, is putting himself at risk every day in the bomb disposal unit and she's finding it hard while he's away.
Bella is growing in confidence and happiness. Her friendship with Winnie's brother, James, is getting closer all the time.
Christmas on the Home Front is a hard time with loved ones far away - but the women of the Auxiliary Ambulance service are making do and mending.
A gorgeously uplifting saga for fans of Ellie Dean and Donna Douglas

Purchase Links



While this is the third book in this series, I read it as a stand alone. 
For anyone who enjoys Land Girls or Call The Midwives, this is the story of the strong women who man Station Seventy-Five. We learn about their life situations, how the war has changed each of them, made having personal relationships difficult, and caused family separations through death, imprisonment, and as a means to staying safe. Learning how to reinvent themselves and build friendships that stand the test of time and very trying circumstances, we follow these young women as they make the best of the worst.

The writing is very well done, the characters developed and visionable.
The story about choices and decisions having to be made will tug at your heart strings.
Overall there is a feeling that some good will come at the end.





Rosie Hendry lives by the sea in Norfolk with her husband, two children, chickens and a snake. She's worked in a variety of jobs from fruit picking, waitressing, teaching and as a research scientist but has always loving reading and writing. Starting off writing short stories for women's magazines, her stories have gradually become longer as her children have grown bigger.

Listening to her father's tales of life during the Second World War sparked Rosie's interest in this period and she's especially intrigued by how women’s lives changed during the war years. She loves researching further, searching out gems of real-life events which inspire her writing.

When she's not working, Rosie enjoys walking along the beach, reading and is grateful for the fact that her husband is a much better cook than her.




No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for visiting.
I love to hear comments
and like to visit you back.