The Forgotten Secret by Kathleen McGurl





The Forgotten Secret
A country at war



It’s the summer of 1919 and Ellen O’Brien has her whole life ahead of her. Young, in love and leaving home for her first job, the future seems full of shining possibility. But war is brewing and before long Ellen and everyone around her are swept up by it. As Ireland is torn apart by the turmoil, Ellen finds herself facing the ultimate test of love and loyalty.



And a long-buried secret
A hundred years later and Clare Farrell has inherited a dilapidated old farmhouse in County Meath. Seizing the chance to escape her unhappy marriage she strikes out on her own for the first time, hoping the old building might also provide clues to her family’s shadowy history. As she sets out to put the place – and herself – back to rights, she stumbles across a long-forgotten hiding place, with a clue to a secret that has lain buried for decades.
For fans of Kate Morton and Gill Paul comes an unforgettable novel about two women fighting for independence.

Purchase Links
US  - https://www.amazon.com/Forgotten-Secret-heartbreaking-gripping-historical-ebook/dp/B07H2PMPR3  


More than two stories in one with parallel themes and overlaps.
This will appeal to the history lover as well as the romantic reader. A believable tale about finding oneself and learning to stand up for what one believes. 
Through tortuous, emotional times, times of war and times of marital war and strife, situations we find ourselves in both out of our control and due to our own choices, the human spirit can prevail if one takes a stand.
Two strong female protagonists head a wondrous cast of characters. 
Storylines a century apart that both contain issues we deal with today.
Being USA born and educated I was unaware of much of the historical details but found them fascinating and will pay more attention when I come across them again in my reading.
To get the most of this book, read it alone, not switching between several books at a time, as I tend to read.



Author Bio –
Kathleen McGurl lives near the sea in Bournemouth, UK, with her husband and elderly tabby cat. She has two sons who are now grown-up and have left home. She began her writing career creating short stories, and sold dozens to women’s magazines in the UK and Australia. Then she got side-tracked onto family history research – which led eventually to writing novels with genealogy themes. She has always been fascinated by the past, and the ways in which the past can influence the present, and enjoys exploring these links in her novels.
Social Media Links –
Twitter: @KathMcGurl  https://twitter.com/KathMcGurl





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Murder, She Wrote: Debonair in Death (Murder She Wrote) by Jessica Fletcher and Terrie Farley Moran

A Christmas at Gingerbread Falls

IT'S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE MURDER