Scarlet Fever: A Novel ("Sister" Jane) by Rita Mae Brown

Scarlet Fever: A Novel ("Sister" Jane) by Rita Mae Brown

About Scarlet Fever

Cozy Mystery 12th in Series
Ballantine Books (November 26, 2019) 
Hardcover: 304 pages 
ISBN-10: 0593130006 
ISBN-13: 978-0593130001
Digital ASIN: B07P8J8KVM

Winter blizzards bring a flurry of cases to solve in this riveting new foxhunting mystery featuring “Sister” Jane Arnold and her incorrigible hounds from New York Times bestselling author Rita Mae Brown.
Frigid February air has settled into the bones of the Blue Ridge Mountains, making for a slow foxhunting season, though “Sister” Jane Arnold’s enthusiasm is not so easily deterred. With the winter chill come tweed coats, blazing fireplaces—and perhaps another to share the warmth with, as the bold hunting scarlets worn by the men in Sister Jane’s hunting club make the hearts of women flutter—until someone’s stops entirely.
Harry Dunbar, a member of the Jefferson Hunt club with a penchant for antique furniture, is found with his skull cracked at the bottom of the stairs to a local store. There are no telltale signs of foul play—save for the priceless (and stolen) Erté fox ring in his pocket. Sister and her hounds set out to uncover the truth: was this simply an accident—a case of bad luck—or something much more sinister?
Steeped in the deep traditions of Virginia horse country and featuring a colorful cast of characters both two- and four-legged, Scarlet Fever is another spirited mystery from Rita Mae Brown.

With literally hundreds of characters having input, you will enjoy this book best if you have some familiarity with the series from previous reads. It does stand alone, especially if you care about horses, hunting or old southern tradition.
We hear from the perspective of horses and hounds and even from the foxes themselves, as several hunt packs traverse the landscape of Old Family Virginia.
The tradition and pageantry are beautifully descriptive and warmly welcoming despite chill winds and bone freezing rains.  Rife with complications of human relationships, scandal and tradition intermingle along with elements of greed and human frailty.
When a man, neither old not frail, slips and dies, people wonder, could it have been intentional?
When a brilliant man suffers with dementia and causes property damage as well as becomes violently mischievous, the community  does their best to support him and his family.
So much is going on one must concentrate to catch it all.
There is also a unique piece of furniture of interest.
A fascinating series but enjoyed most when you read it start to each successive book.

About Rita Mae Brown

Rita Mae Brown is the bestselling author of the Sneaky Pie Brown mysteries; the Sister Jane series; the Runnymede novels, including Six of One and Cakewalk; A Nose for Justice and Murder Unleashed; Rubyfruit Jungle; and In Her Day; as well as many other books. An Emmy-nominated screenwriter and a poet, Brown lives in Afton, Virginia, and is a Master of Foxhounds and the huntsman.

Author Links
Purchase Links - Amazon - B&N - Kobo - IndieBound

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?


Popular posts from this blog

African Vengeance by Steve Braker

Pickled Pink in Paris

Country Courtship and Texas Two Step reviews